Top Songs – 2012

I found out today that CBC Radio 3’s Craig Norris is moving on to host the Kitchener-Waterloo Morning show for CBC. I have to give a lot of credit to CBC Radio 3 for keeping me from being some old guy pining for the music of his adolescence and twenties.

And while I get about 90% of my new music from Radio 3, I seem to have a different idea of what constitutes a great song. Back in 2009, I thought this song would be in the Top 5 for the year, it didn’t even make the top 103! I still think it’s a fantastic, catchy, well written and quintessentially Canadian song. So with that in mind, here are my favourite tracks from 2012 (only 3 of which made CBC’s top 103 for the year).

The Ruffled Feathers – Blueprints for Our Failed Revolution – How this didn’t make the list, I’ll never know.

Moonface – Teary Eyes and Bloody Lips – Featuring the distinct vocals of ex-Wolf Parade singer Spencer Krug:

Elisapie – Life is What You Make It – This was a late release in 2012, but the whole album is excellent. One of my favourite’s from 2012. (And just because, here’s a link to her covering an ABBA song)

Wintersleep – Resuscitate – Perhaps my favourite track from this list. According to iTunes, I’ve listened to it 42 times or for about 3 hours and 20 minutes.

Hannah Georgas – Enemies – Here’s a live version recorded for CBC. She sounds fantastic, and I’m looking forward to seeing her show Feb. 1.

Bahamas – Lost in the Light – I love the simple guitar in this. So relaxed and understated.

Purity Ring – Fineshrine

Mac Demarco – Baby’s Wearing Blue Jeans – I like this ridiculous video almost as much as this song.

Stars – Through the Mines – This is a great album and this probably my favourite track off it. From the subtle lead guitar 36 seconds in to the lovely final verse “boat out on a dock, wind soft while it rocks, sparrows circle home, the lake soft while we talk,” this is a great song.

Grimes – Oblivion – This was #1 on CBC’s top 103 and this album made a lot of year end best-of lists. It has more views on Youtube than the rest of this list combined. (But I do think the hook is very similar to Feist’s Past In Present)

Tegan and Sarah – Closer – My wife is a huge fan of theirs and its been interesting to hear their evolution over the albums. They’ve become masters of writing great pop songs.

Leave a Reply

