My Love Letter to CBC Radio 3 On Their 10 Year Anniversary (via 2009) – Part 2

You can read about Part 1 of my post on being an expat in Chile, the CBC Radio 3 Blog, and when me and my favourite sidekick got into a car crash over here. I made a playlist of the Canadian music I was listening to at the time over here.

Me and Em

A few weeks after we arrived in Chile the stock market crashed and the global economic meltdown began. Prior to moving, the company had financing in place to do their exploration work. That deal fell through. It was a hard year. We were planning on making a five-year commitment in Chile, but as the months wore on, it was obvious that wasn’t going to be possible. My wife got pregnant with our second child and she headed back to Canada a couple of months ahead of me to be closer to her doctor in case there were any complications. I stayed behind with Emma, our 6-year old golden doodle. She came out with me every day as I mapped a mining property, she followed me into dark tunnels filled with venomous spiders and ran off to run with wild horses and chase endangered Guanacos.

Wild Horses

I was cleared from the hospital and we finally got a hold of one of two vets in town. He thought Emma had broke her snout in the accident, but we couldn’t know for sure because neither vet had an x-ray machine. Emma’s muzzle was bandaged up, she was put on a liquid diet and I had to delay my return home a few weeks for her to heal. Many things from the truck were looted after the accident but someone found my iPod that was smashed and rendered useless. After returning the company’s laptop, I found that I had lost a lot of the CBC songs that I had purchased over the year.

ipod

The weekly CBC podcasts have been cancelled and one of the side effects of this was me losing touch with new Canadian music. The CBC shows are available for streaming if you have a fast enough internet connection (or an internet connection at all). Last February I spent a week working in Peru where I spent 55 hours in a truck travelling throughout the country, 55 hours spent listening to other things. I understand that money is tight everywhere, particularly for a public broadcaster, but the loss of those podcasts comes at the expense of young artists in Canada and Canadians home and abroad.

CBC

The days after the accident were hard for Emma. She wouldn’t come in the truck and she didn’t even want to go for a morning walk with me. But day-by-day, she got better and stronger. She slimmed down in the time she spent with me and returned to Canada 25 pounds lighter, the return trip costing about half of what it cost to ship her to Chile.

A few years later, when all that cloud business was introduced, a flood of memories came back as I was able get back all of those songs.

Emma is still around but at 12 years old she’s starting to slow down. At nights, when she’s asleep and her eyelids flicker and her legs twitch, I wonder if she dreams of chasing after endangered guanacos through the Andes Mountains.

Emma

Leave a Reply

